UO Survivor Speaks Out In Register Guard

UO Survivor Speaks Out In Register Guard

“I am angry with the culture that appears to exist in our athletic department that prioritizes winning over safety of our students. I cannot fathom how our basketball coach recruited someone who was in the middle of a suspension for another sexual assault to come to Eugene… Students, faculty and other community members have been asking some very needed questions of our athletic department, and I am not satisfied with the answers they have provided. I think that we all deserve better explanations and real transparency,”

 

But she praised the UO Dean of Students office. “They have been very kind and supportive of me and I can’t thank them enough. I’m not sure I would still be on campus if it weren’t for their help,” she wrote.

 

“My sincere hope, though,” the young woman wrote, “is that as a school, (the) UO can get through this and come out in a better place at the end. I still love our school and I want it to be the best and safest place anywhere in the country.”

Leave a Reply

