6

Bystander Story: 5/14/2014

Last night May 12th I worked at a Sorority/Fraternity event Anchor Splash. This was a charity event talent show that had the sororities and fraternities competing against one another. I have also worked similar events at OSU and have never seen anything as blatantly misogynistic as this event. this was my first event of this type at Oregon. I was deeply disturbed at the misogyny and homophobia expressed at this event. Most of the fraternities included members dressed up as women and held up to ridicule. I understand that some of this should be expected at an event of this kind but one frat went too far. They had a secession of “women” approach a man who then proceeded to reject them by pretending to strike each one until he found one acceptable. Violence- even pretend violence against women has no place in a University setting. I’m sorry that I can’t tell you which of the teams it was as I wasn’t keeping track of who was who. It is precisely this condoning of violence against women that contributes to the rape culture prevalent in society. They obviously felt comfortable expressing these views in public in spite of the events in the last couple of weeks. I found your website and decided to share my concerns.

Leave a Reply

