image-980x653

Fraternities on UO Campus

The other day I was informed that one of the fraternities on campus (Sig Ep) was put on social probation because roofies had been found in their frat house. But I was also told keep this quiet because it’s not supposed to get around. While I think it’s good that Sig Ep is facing a punishment for this I also think that our students have the right to know about this incident so that they can keep that in mind when they are going to the frat house or making the decision whether or not to go to that frat house. I understand that this incident is not representative of every male in the Sig Ep fraternity and I’m not trying to say that people should stop going there completely. It’s also not my desire to cast a bad light on Greek Life. I’m just worried by the fact that this information is not being made public because our students who could be put at risk by something like this deserve to be able to make informed decisions for their safety and health. This incident takes on even more significance in light of recent events, and I am continuing to be disappointed in how the university is choosing to handle these types of occurrences. I’m starting to lose trust in my school and I don’t feel like my safety and the safety of my peers is being made a priority.

Leave a Reply

