Update – Task Force to Address Sexual Violence and Survivor Support

To: UO Senate & Senate Executive Committee
From: Robert Kyr, University Senate President
RE: Senate Task Force to Address Sexual Violence and Survivor Support
I am writing in order to give you an update regarding the Senate’s Task Force to Address Sexual Violence and Survivor Support.
On May 14, 2014, the task force was formed through legislation, which directs it to “study the strengths and limitations of the university’s response to recent incidents of sexual violence, and based on those assessments, to initiate sustained, proactive changes aimed at ending sexual violence and supporting survivors of sexual violence.” The complete text of the legislation may be accessed through this link: Senate motion US13/14-52
As authorized by the legislation, I formed the task force, which elected its co-chairs—Carol Stabile and Randy Sullivan. The membership of the task force is as follows:
Elected Members of the University Senate
David Espinoza, Officer of Administration Senator; Assistant Director,
Testing Center
Jennifer Freyd, Statutory Faculty Senator; Professor (Pyschology)
Randy Sullivan, Co-Chair; Statutory Faculty Senator; Lecture Demonstrator
Members of Senate Constituencies
Ibrahim Gassama, James O. & Alfred T. Goodwin Senior Faculty Fellow;
Professor (Law)
Jocelyn Hollander, Associate Professor and Department Head (Sociology)
Andrew Lubash, Student Senator in the ASUO Senate; Undergraduate Student
(Political Science); Truman Scholar
Cheyney Ryan, UO Professor Emeritus (Philosophy and Law); Senior Research
            Fellow, Merton College, Oxford University
Nominees Recommended by UO-CESV
Amanda Marshall, United States Attorney for the District of Oregon
Carly Smith, Graduate Teaching Fellow and Gradute Student (Psychology)
Carol Stabile, Co-Chair; Professor (Journalism and Communication & Women’s
            and Gender Studies
Sarah Ray Rondot, Graduate Teaching Fellow (Women’s and Gender Studies);
Graduate Student (English)
Helena Schlegel, Undergraduate Student (Spanish)
Member of the University Administration
Sandy Weintraub, Director of Student Conduct and Community Standards,
Dean of Students Office
Staff Members (Direct Services in Bias Education and Response to Sexual Violence for Students)
Renae DeSautel, Sexual Violence Response Coordinator; Dean of Students Office
Sheryl Eyster, Associate Dean of Students (Dean of Students Office)
Ex Officio, Non-Voting Members
Beatriz Gutierrez, ASUO President; Undergraduate Student (Ethnic Studies)
Robert Kyr, University Senate President; Philip H. Knight Professor of Music
Bruce MacAllister, UO Ombudsperson
The first two meetings of the task force were held on Wednesday, July 9 and Thursday, July 24, 2014. As specified by the legislation, all meetings of the task force are open. All materials related to its work—including a complete membership list, agendas and minutes—may be found on its webpage, which may be accessed here: Task Force to Address Sexual Violence and Survivor Support
In particular, I encourage you to read the draft goals of the task force, which are posted on its webpage, here: Draft Goals
Recently, President Gottfredson and I had a fruitful discussion about coordinating the efforts of the President’s Review Panel and the Senate’s Task Force. In order to accomplish our goals, we must all work together in a cooperative and collaborative manner that will result in meaningful and sustainable action. The Senate Task Force will share its initial findings and make some preliminary recommendations for action no later than the October 22nd Senate meeting. It will also propose a structure for a Senate Standing Committee and create a list of longer-term agenda items for the committee to address.
Our Senate Task Force plans to meet again during the week of August 2nd and the notice of meeting will be posted on the Task Force webpage as soon as it is scheduled. As I mentioned above, all meetings are open and you are always welcome to attend.
On behalf of the Senate, I would like to thank each member of the task force for his or her willingness to serve and to address matters that deeply concern all of us. Thank you so much for your dedication and commitment.
All the best,
Robert Kyr
President, University Senate
Philip H. Knight Professor of Music

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s